Looking back through the Archives

To the photogs reading this (hello, is anyone there…?), you know how occasionally you’ll, for one reason or another, start thumbing back through your archive of images?  I do sometimes, just to look at the images through different eyes.  Eyes that have learned more about the craft of photography since last time they gazed upon a set of images.  Maybe you moved on, stylistically, from say the saturated travel pictures and are currently navigating  a darker place – artistically speaking, or vice versa.

Well today I did just that – thumb back through some pics I took in France a couple of  years back.  It was the depth of the 2008 European winter, the first big outing with my shiny new digital SLR and evolved into my first exhibition.  Today I was most interested in the stuff I rejected for the exhibition, la brume de l’hiver, which featured shots from Paris and the Loire Valley. Rejected because they didn’t sit well with the theme and weren’t sharp enough for what I was trying to achieve with that exhibition.  So this afternoon, instead of doing some work – real, paying work (sorry Love),  I had some fun instead.  You just have to do that sometimes – especially when you’ve got the flu, as does your partner and yep, also the bub, who as a result of the subsequent bronchial infection has determined to never sleep again – or at least that’s how it seems at 3 or 4 in the morning.

Hope you enjoy.

untitled
untitled
untitled

About this entry